Anti-Itch Lotion Bars

So ever since December I have had INSATIABLY itchy skin. And it’s not because of dry skin from the cold weather, because I moisturize like nobody’s business. At first I thought it was hives due to my very stressful trip to Michigan (we nearly missed our plane!) but it just never went away!

I thought about the possibility of it being an allergy but haven’t been doing anything different and, obviously, I only use all natural products, so! I don’t know what it could be, and I’m convinced that if I go to a dermatologist they will just have me search for what kind of allergy it could be by changing out my detergent, cutting out certain foods blah blah blah. Nothing I can’t learn from my Mama. So I’m just going to try and power through it and make it go away on my own! I’ve cut my nails, am forcing myself to take warm showers instead of my beloved steaming hot showers, and I made these anti-itch lotion bars that contain several ingredients that will help calm the itching. If you don’t have an all over body itch that causes you to want to scratch your skin off, and perhaps you just find yourself with the typical dry skin winter itch, these can still be beneficial to you.

Anti-Itch Lotion Bars

You will need:

a bunch of fresh basil

1 Tbsp of whole cloves

1 Tbsp of raw shea butter

1 Tbsp raw cocoa butter

2 Tbsp of virgin coconut oil

1 tsp of vitamin E (or about 3 squeezed capsules)

1 1/2 Tbsp of raw beeswax

8-12 drops of lavender essential oil

8-12 drops of peppermint oil

In a double boiler, melt the shea butter, coconut oil, and cocoa butter. Add the vitamin E. Then chop up you basil leaves and crush the whole cloves and add them to the melted mixture. Let it infuse for about 5-7 minutes or until you can smell the basil and cloves.

Then strain the liquid through a wire mesh strainer to get out all the pieces. Replace the now infused liquid back in the double boiler and add the beeswax.

Once the beeswax is entirely melted, remove the mixture from the heat and then add your lavender and peppermint essential oil.

While it’s still liquid, pour the mixture into whatever molds you have chosen. This doesn’t make very many bars (you can increase the size of the recipe to make more if you wish) so I just used two small bowls. Ice cube trays and silicone cupcake sheets also make good molds.

Then allow them to cool. Once they’ve hardened, placing them in the freezer for a little bit helps them pop out of the molds a little easier and ensures that they are cooled completely before removal.

Anti-Itch Lotion Bars

I cut my bars into smaller chunks because you don’t need that much, just enough of a chunk to hold on to. To use, just rub the bar on whatever part of your skin is dry or itching you. I keep a small chuck in a ziploc bag in my purse so I don’t need any little bottle of lotion with me anymore.

Why it works:

Anti-Itch Lotion Bars

Both basil and cloves contain a chemical compound called eugenol which is a natural antiseptic and anesthetic, so it can help to numb or calm any itchiness you might be experiencing.

Coconut oil is the base of many balms and salves that are used to eczema because it is ver nutrient rich and emollient.

Shea butter is also very nutrient rich and is full of vitamin A and E. It is very emollient and it is also a natural humectant which means that it helps with the retention of water, so it helps your skin retain the moisture it already has.

Cocoa butter is also very emollient and is full of natural antioxidants. It naturally helps prevent dry, itchy skin.

Vitamin E not only helps heal dry itchy skin, but it helps prevent the loss of skin moisture.

Lavender essential oil is calming and a natural anti-inflamatory and can help in soothing skin that is inflamed from excessive itching and help reduce swelling and redness from itchy bug bites.

Peppermint essential oil is an anti-inflammatory, antiseptic, and analgesic and is commonly used to treat itching induced by stress, scabies, or dermatitis. The menthol helps to numb the feeling of itchiness and reduces redness and inflammation.

Beeswax not only helps to hold the lotion bars together, but it also helps relieve and heal itchy skin.

Anti-Itch Lotion Bars

I only made them yesterday, but these bars have been a big help already just for their ease of use. Usually I can only keep a small cheap and ineffective bottle of drugstore lotion in my purse while all my rich an nourishing oils and butters are at home, but now I have have something that works on the go. They are super moisturizing and smell wonderful! Definitely something you can enjoy itchy or not!

Leave a Reply

